Facebook is undoubtedly one of the most popular social network and as funny as it may sound, most people have their lives built around the social network.
Most people tend to update their relationship status when they are in a relationship and when they are no longer in a relationship. If you just broke up with whoever you were dating and the person seem to be on your fb friends list, Facebook wants to help you forget your ex much easily.
Having to block your ex on Facebook may seem rather childish of you and in other to save yourself from been tagged as ‘Childish’, the new privacy settings introduced by Facebook can actually help you in ‘almost’ blocking your ex on the social network without he/she knowing.
The new privacy tool will be displayed when a user changes his/her relationship status to ‘Single’. The tool will allow users to see less of their former partner’s content and activity on Facebook without actually unfriending or blocking them.
Not only that, the tool will also block the ex’s name from appearing when composing new messages or tagging friends in photos. Asides those, users can also block ex from seeing photos, videos or status updates that you update after utilizing the privacy tool. See it as having your life more private without your ex having to know about how you are doing without having to block them.
According to Facebook:
This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end relationships on Facebook with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.
Of course, the new privacy tool is optional and can be accessed in the help center anytime. The new feature is currently only available to mobile phone users in the US and will likely be extended to other regions after changes are made based on people’s feedback.